Statistics – Labor Market & Unemployment

Here you cand find information and statistics in regards to the labor market in Germany.

Statistik zum Arbeitsmarkt

Here you can find statistics and supportive data in regards to the unemployment rates according to the different regions.

Statistik zu Arbeitslosen

Explanation of the presented statistics

Unemployment and underemployment

In 2016, 2,691,000 people were registered as unemployed in Germany. Compared to the previous year, the unemployed were 104,000 people less.

Underemployment, which also includes people in measures of labor market policy and short-term incapacity for work, in 2016 amounted to 3,581,000 on average. That was 50,000 less compared to the previous year. The fact that unemployment on average has declined more than underemployment is explained by the increasing relief from labor market policy instruments. In particular, measures for activation and vocational integration and the so-called “third-party funding”, in which participation in integration courses at the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees (BAMF) is recorded, are taken into account in particular. There were declines in the retirement period, the end of which was expiring at the end of 2015.

Development in unemployment insurance

Of the 2,691,000 unemployed, 822,000 or 31 per cent were served by an employment agency in the SGB III legal system. Compared to the previous year that is with 37,000 people less. A total of 788,000 individuals received an unemployment allowance in 2016, 46,000 less than in 2015.

Development in the basic job for job seekers

A total of around 4,310,000 eligible employees were served by a job center in the SGB II legal system. Compared to the previous year, this is a decline of 18,000. At 7.9 per cent, the share of those eligible to benefit for all persons living in Germany at working age was slightly below the previous year’s figure. In 2016, an average of 1,869,000 persons (69% of all unemployed) were registered as unemployed in the SGB II legal system. That was 67,000 less than last year. A majority of Arbeitslosengeld II recipients are not registered as unemployed. The reason for this is that these persons are employed, look after small children, care for relatives or are still in training.

Employment and employment subject to social insurance

Employment requiring social insurance continued to grow in 2016. According to provisional data from the Federal Statistical Office, the average annual activity rose by 429,000 to 43.49 million. Thus, employment reached its highest level since reunification.

As in previous years, the employment subject to social insurance has risen more sharply than employment. The other forms of employment, e.g. Minor employment or self-employment were mostly declining. In June 2016, 31.37 million workers were subject to social insurance. That was 602,000 more than a year before. The economy is only partly explaining the sharp rise in employment. Other factors such as sectoral change, a high labor market tension and immigration gained importance for employment and led to a stable uptrend.

Labor demand

The number of reported workplaces was 2015 at 655,000. That was 87,000 more than last year. In 2016, most of the vacancies were directed to workers in the areas of transport and logistics, sales, metal, machine and vehicle technology as well as health.

The BA-X, a seasonally-adjusted indicator of the demand for labor in Germany, was characterized by near-continuous growth in 2016 and was at the end of the year at 227 points.

Budget of the Federal Agency for Labor

The Federal Agency for Employment concluded the 2016 financial year with a surplus of EUR 5.4 billion. The budget for 2016 implied an increase of EUR 1.8 billion.

The good position on the labor market led to significantly lower expenditure in the course of the year. The high demand for labor led to a further decline in the number of unemployed. Expenditures for unemployment benefits were around EUR 1 billion less than planned, at EUR 14.4 billion. The good economic situation was also reflected in the expenses for insolvency money, which is 0.3 billion euros below expectations. The integration opportunities for unemployed people were good overall in 2016. Integration into the labor market has often been implemented without funding. However, people from abroad were particularly interested. The Bundesagentur für Arbeit, therefore, once again intensified its integration efforts into the training and labor market for this group of people. Among other things, it financed the participation of more than 233,000 people from Eritrea, Iraq, Iran and Syria in language courses at a cost of 0.3 billion euros. A total of € 8.1 billion was spent on the benefits of active employment promotion.

Employment and wages developed somewhat more positively than expected in the course of the year. There were € 0.2 billion more contributions to unemployment insurance than were provided for in the budget.

Of the realized result, around 4.9 billion euros will be transferred to the general reserve. The remaining funds are allocated to the specific reserves for insolvency allowance and winter employment subsidies.

Quelle: Bundesagentur für Arbeit

2017-02-27T03:48:44+00:00

Hier finden Sie Informationen und Statistiken über den Arbeitsmarkt in Deutschland.

Statistik zum Arbeitsmarkt

Hier finden Sie Statistiken und Eckdaten zu den Arbeitslosen nach Regionen.

Statistik zu Arbeitslosen

Erläuterung zu den Statistiken

 Arbeitslosigkeit und Unterbeschäftigung

Im Jahresdurchschnitt 2016 waren in Deutschland 2.691.000 Menschen arbeitslos gemeldet. Im Vergleich zum Vorjahr waren das 104.000 Menschen weniger.

Die Unterbeschäftigung, die auch Personen in Maßnahmen der Arbeitsmarktpolitik und in kurzfristiger Arbeitsunfähigkeit mitzählt, belief sich 2016 durchschnittlich auf 3.581.000 Personen. Das waren 50.000 weniger als im Vorjahr. Dass die Arbeitslosigkeit im Jahresdurchschnitt stärker abgenommen hat als die Unterbeschäftigung, erklärt sich mit der zunehmenden Entlastung durch arbeitsmarktpolitische Instrumente. Zuwächse verzeichneten insbesondere Maßnahmen zur Aktivierung und beruflichen Eingliederung und die sogenannte Fremdförderung, in der vor allem die Teilnahme an Integrationskursen beim Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge (BAMF) erfasst werden. Rückgänge gab es bei der Altersteilzeit, deren Förderung Ende 2015 ausgelaufen ist.

Entwicklung in der Arbeitslosenversicherung

Von den 2.691.000 Arbeitslosen wurden jahresdurchschnittlich 822.000 oder 31 Prozent im Rechtskreis SGB III von einer Agentur für Arbeit betreut. Im Vergleich zum Vorjahr waren das 37.000 weniger. Insgesamt 788.000 Personen erhielten 2016 durchschnittlich Arbeitslosengeld, 46.000 weniger als 2015.

Entwicklung in der Grundsicherung für Arbeitsuchende

Insgesamt rund 4.310.000 erwerbsfähige Leistungsberechtigte wurden nach hochgerechneten Werten im Jahr 2016 im Rechtskreis SGB II von einem Jobcenter betreut. Gegenüber dem Vorjahr war dies ein Rückgang von 18.000. Der Anteil der erwerbsfähigen Leistungsberechtigten an allen in Deutschland lebenden Personen im erwerbsfähigen Alter lag mit 7,9 Prozent leicht unter dem Vorjahresstand. 2016 waren im Rechtskreis SGB II durchschnittlich 1.869.000 Personen (69 Prozent aller Arbeitslosen) arbeitslos gemeldet. Das waren 67.000 weniger als im Vorjahr. Ein Großteil der Arbeitslosengeld II-Bezieher ist nicht arbeitslos gemeldet. Das liegt daran, dass diese Personen erwerbstätig sind, kleine Kinder betreuen, Angehörige pflegen oder sich noch in der Ausbildung befinden.

Erwerbstätigkeit und sozialversicherungspflichtige Beschäftigung

Erwerbstätigkeit und sozialversicherungspflichtige Beschäftigung haben 2016 weiter zugenommen. Nach vorläufigen Angaben des Statistischen Bundesamtes ist die Erwerbstätigkeit im Jahresdurchschnitt um 429.000 auf 43,49 Mio gestiegen. Damit erreichte die Erwerbstätigkeit ihren höchsten Stand seit der Wiedervereinigung.

Wie schon in den Vorjahren hat die sozialversicherungspflichtige Beschäftigung 2016 stärker zugenommen als die Erwerbstätigkeit. Die übrigen Formen der Erwerbstätigkeit z.B. geringfügige Beschäftigung oder Selbstständigkeit waren überwiegend rückläufig. Im Juni 2016 waren 31,37 Mio Arbeitnehmer sozialversicherungspflichtig beschäftigt. Das waren 602.000 mehr als ein Jahr davor. Die Konjunktur erklärt den kräftigen Beschäftigungsanstieg nur zum Teil. Andere Faktoren wie der sektorale Wandel, eine hohe Arbeitsmarktanspannung und Zuwanderung gewannen an Bedeutung für die Beschäftigung und führten zu einem stabilen Aufwärtstrend.

Arbeitskräftenachfrage

Der Bestand gemeldeter Arbeitsstellen lag im Jahresdurchschnitt 2016 bei 655.000. Das waren 87.000 mehr als im Vorjahr. Die meisten Stellenangebote richteten sich 2016 an Arbeitskräfte in den Bereichen Verkehr und Logistik, Verkauf, Metall, Maschinen- und Fahrzeugtechnik sowie Gesundheit.

Der BA-X, ein saisonbereinigter Indikator für die Nachfrage nach Arbeitskräften in Deutschland, zeichnete sich 2016 durch ein nahezu kontinuierliches Wachstum aus und befindet sich zum Jahresende mit 227 Punkten auf Höchstniveau.

Haushalt der Bundesagentur für Arbeit

Die Bundesagentur für Arbeit schließt das Haushaltsjahr 2016 mit einem Überschuss in Höhe von 5,4 Milliarden Euro ab. Der Haushaltsplan für 2016 unterstellte ein Plus in Höhe von 1,8 Milliarden Euro.

Die gute Lage auf dem Arbeitsmarkt führte zu deutlich geringeren Ausgaben im Jahresverlauf. Die hohe Nachfrage nach Arbeitskräften führte zu einem weiteren Rückgang der Zahl der Arbeitslosen. Die Ausgaben für Arbeitslosengeld waren mit 14,4 Milliarden Euro rund 1 Milliarde Euro geringer als geplant. Die gute Konjunktur spiegelte sich auch in den Ausgaben für Insolvenzgeld wider, welche 0,3 Milliarden Euro unter den Erwartungen liegen. Die Integrationschancen für arbeitslose Menschen waren 2016 insgesamt betrachtet gut. Integrationen in den Arbeitsmarkt wurden vielfach ohne Förderung realisiert. Eine besondere Aufmerksamkeit benötigten allerdings die Menschen aus dem Ausland. Die Bundesagentur für Arbeit verstärkte daher nochmals ihre Integrationsbemühungen in den Ausbildungs- und Arbeitsmarkt für diese Personengruppe. Unter anderem finanzierte sie mit 0,3 Milliarden Euro die Teilnahme von über 233.000 Menschen aus Eritrea, Irak, Iran und Syrien an Sprachkursen. Für die Leistungen der aktiven Arbeitsförderung wurden insgesamt 8,1 Milliarden Euro ausgegeben.

Beschäftigung und Löhne entwickelten sich im Jahresverlauf etwas positiver als angenommen. Es wurden 0,2 Milliarden Euro mehr Beiträge zur Arbeitslosenversicherung geleistet als im Haushaltsplan vorgesehen waren.

Vom realisierten Ergebnis fließen rund 4,9 Milliarden Euro in die allgemeine Rücklage. Die restlichen Mittel werden den spezifischen Rücklagen für Insolvenzgeld und der Winterbeschäftigungsförderung zugeführt.

Quelle: Bundesagentur für Arbeit