Educational Package – Education & Participation Opportunities Under 25 Years

Das BildungspaketThe educational package is intended to support children, young people and young adults under 25 years of age for good education and participation in sports, culture and leisure activities. The education package is particularly aimed at families who have to make do with less money. In addition to the school transport and the necessary school supplies, the educational package allows children and young people to participate in:

  • Sports clubs,
  • Art & music groups,
  • Lunch in day care and school,
  • Tutoring lessons, insofar as this is necessary to achieve essential learning goals,
  • Several-day class trips

Since March 1, 2015, the education and participation services are also available to children from refugee families in order to avoid exclusion through education.

Who is Entitled to the Educational Package?

Children and young people under the age of 25 are entitled to the educational package if they or their parents:

  • Benefits of the basic job for job-seekers (unemployment benefit II or social money),
  • Social care,
  • Benefits under the Asylum Seekers Benefits Act,
  • Housing allowance or
  • Children’s supplement received.

Important: Even if none of the above mentioned benefits are referred to, a claim for Arbetslosengeld II or social allowance may be considered due to the educational and participation requirements of the children.

Where Can I Apply for the Educational Package?

The responsibility for the implementation of the education package depends on the place of residence and is organized by the counties and the municipalities.

Basically:

  • Who receives Arbeitslosengeld II or social money, usually turns to the job center for services from the education package.
    • Even those who have not yet received any social benefits but may have a claim from the education package solely because of the child’s educational and participation requirements should contact the job center.
  • The job centers are not responsible for families receiving social assistance, housing allowances, child allowances or benefits under the Asylum Act. The districts or cities (for example in the town hall, in the citizens’ office or in the district administration) call these families the right contact.

Implementation of the Educational Package

School supplies

The cost-bearer (usually the authority where the educational package was applied for) transfers a total of 100 euros per school year for the child’s personal school needs. The amount is paid in two installments:

  1. 70 euros of which at the beginning of the school year and
  2. 30 euros for the second half-year.

If the child is not admitted to school for the first time in the course of the respective school year or because of an interruption of the school visit,

  • 70 € if the first day of school falls in the period from August to January of the school year, or
  • 100 € if the first day of school falls in the period from February to July of the school year.

Parents should regularly ask their children if they have all the necessary school materials for their lessons. In addition to school bags and sportswear, school supplies also include writing, computation and drawing materials, such as fillers, pencils, circles, geodrees, erasers, booklets, ink cartridges and pocket calculators.

School Transport

Students who receive the next school of the chosen course of study and who are eligible for student transport, e.g. By bus or train, if their costs are not borne by anyone else and if it is unreasonable to pay the expenses from the rule requirement (own portion). This is mainly the case for upper secondary pupils (for example high school). The own share (usually of 5 Euro per month) is only calculated if the child can also use the monthly card private. The application must be submitted to the jobcenter.

Lunch in Day-Care Center, and School

If the day-care center, the school or the children’s day-care center (for example, the mother’s mother) offers a regular warm lunch, the costs can be borne by way of a subsidy. If necessary, lunch can be provided to schoolchildren when lunch is provided at school. The jobcenter or the authority responsible for the educational package pays the supplement for the hot lunch. The share of the family is one euro per child per day.

Important: Documents for the declared lunch must be canceled and submitted to the authority as they are necessary for a cost transfer.

Excursions and School Trips from Day Care Centers and Schools

Children can participate in one or several day trips organized by the school, day care center or children’s day care (for example, the day’s mother). If a day trip or a class trip is planned, they should be registered beforehand at the job center or the authority responsible for the education package. If all necessary prerequisites are fulfilled, the beneficiary receives a voucher or the costs are taken directly

Culture, Sports and Leisure

In principle, the educational package allows for participation in the areas of culture, sport and leisure. Up to the age of 18, up to € 10 per month for each child; for eg. for music lessons, football or athletics association, dance classes, art lessons or comparable leisure activities

2017-04-01T14:56:05+00:00

Das BildungspaketDas Bildungspaket soll Kinder, Jugendlichen und junge Erwachsene unter 25 Jahren für eine gute Bildung und der Teilhabe an Sport, Kultur und Freizeitmöglichkeiten unterstützen. Das Bildungspaket richtet sich dafür insbesonders an Familien, die mit weniger Geld auskommen müssen. Neben der Schulbeförderung und dem nötigen Schulbedarf ermöglicht das Bildungspaket Kindern und Jugendlichen die Teilnahme an:

  • Sportvereine,
  • Kunst & Musikgruppen,
  • Mittagessen in Kita und Schule,
  • Nachhilfeunterricht, insofern dies zum erreichen wesentlicher Lernziele erforderlich ist,
  • mehrtägiger Klassenfahrten

Seit 1. März 2015 sind die Bildungs- und Teilhabeleistungen auch für Kinder aus Flüchtlingsfamilien verfügbar, um durch Bildung eine Ausgrenzung zu vermeiden.

Wer hat Anspruch auf das Bildungspaket?

Anspruch auf Leistungen des Bildungspakets haben Kinder und Jugendliche unter 25 Jahren, wenn sie bzw. ihre Eltern

  • Leistungen der Grundsicherung für Arbeitsuchende (Arbeitslosengeld II oder Sozialgeld),
  • Sozialhilfe,
  • Leistungen nach dem Asylbewerberleistungsgesetz,
  • Wohngeld oder
  • Kinderzuschlag erhalten.

Wichtig: Auch wenn noch keine der genannten Leistungen bezogen wird, kommt eventuell ein Anspruch auf Arbeitslosengeld II oder Sozialgeld aufgrund der Bildungs- und Teilhabebedarfe der Kinder in Betracht.

Wo kann das Bildungspaket beantragt werden?

Die Zuständigkeit für die Umsetzung des Bildungspakets ist abhängig vom Wohnort und wird von den Kreisen, kreisfreien Städte und Kommunen organisiert.

Grundsätzlich gilt:

  • Wer Arbeitslosengeld II oder Sozialgeld bekommt, wendet sich für Leistungen aus dem Bildungspaket in der Regel an das Jobcenter.
    • Auch wer bisher noch keine der Sozialleistungen erhält, aber möglicherweise allein wegen der Bildungs- und Teilhabebedarfe des Kindes einen Anspruch aus dem Bildungspaket haben könnte, sollte sich an das Jobcenter wenden.
  • Für Familien, die Sozialhilfe, Wohngeld, Kinderzuschlag oder Leistungen nach dem AsylbLG erhalten, sind die Jobcenter nicht zuständig. Die Kreise oder kreisfreien Städte (erreichbar z.B. im Rathaus, im Bürgeramt oder in der Kreisverwaltung) nennen diesen Familien den richtigen Ansprechpartner.

Umsetzung des Bildungspakets

Schulbedarf

Der Kostenträger (in der Regel die Behörde wo das Bildungspaket beantragt wurde) überweist insgesamt 100 Euro pro Schuljahr für den persönlichen Schulbedarf des Kindes. Der Betrag wird in zwei Teilzahlungen erbracht:

  1. 70 Euro davon zu Beginn des Schuljahres und
  2. 30 Euro zum zweiten Halbjahr.

Wenn das Kind erst im Verlaufe des jeweiligen Schuljahr erstmalig oder aufgrund einer Unterbrechung des Schulbesuches erneut in eine Schule aufgenommen wird, werden:

  • 70 Euro gezahlt, wenn der erste Schultag in den Zeitraum von August bis Januar des Schuljahres fällt oder
  • 100 Euro gezahlt, wenn der erste Schultag in den Zeitraum von Februar bis Juli des Schuljahres fällt.

Eltern sollten ihre Kinder regelmäßig fragen, ob es alle notwendigen Schulmaterialien für den Unterricht hat. Zum Schulbedarf gehören neben dem Schulranzen und Sportsachen auch Schreib-, Rechen- und Zeichenmaterialien, wie z. B. Füller, Malstifte, Zirkel, Geodreieck, Radiergummi, Schnellhefter, Blöcke, Tintenpatronen und Taschenrechner.

Schulbeförderung

Den Zuschuss zur Schülerbeförderung erhalten Schülerinnen und Schüler, welche die nächstgelegene Schule des gewählten Bildungsgangs besuchen und die auf Schülerbeförderung, z.B. mit dem Bus oder Zug, angewiesen sind, wenn deren Kosten niemand anderes übernimmt und soweit es nicht zumutbar ist, die Aufwendungen aus dem Regelbedarf zu bestreiten (Eigenanteil). Im Wesentlichen betrifft dies Schülerinnen und Schüler der Sekundarstufe II (z.B. gymnasiale Oberstufe). Der Eigenanteil (in der Regel in Höhe von 5 Euro monatlich) wird nur angerechnet, wenn das Kind die Monatskarte auch privat nutzen kann. Der Antrag dazu ist im Jobcenter zu stellen.

Mittagessen in Kita, Schule und Hort

Sofern die Kita, die Schule oder die Kindertagespflege (z.B. die Tagesmutter) des Kindes ein regelmäßiges warmes Mittagessen anbietet, können die Kosten in Form eines Zuschusses dafür übernommen werden. Den Zuschuss für das Mittagessen im Hort können gegebenenfalls auch Schulkinder erhalten, wenn die Mittagsverpflegung des Horts in schulischer Verantwortung angeboten wird. Den Zuschuss zum warmen Mittagessen zahlt das Jobcenter beziehungsweise die für das Bildungspaket zuständige Behörde. Der Eigenanteil der Familien liegt bei einem Euro pro Kind und Tag.

Wichtig: Belege für das angemeldete Mittagessen sind aufzuheben und bei der Behörde einzureichen, da diese für eine Kostenübernahme erforderlich sind.

Ausflüge und Klassenfahrten von Kitas und Schulen

Kinder können an ein- oder mehrtägigen Ausflügen teilnehmen, welche durch die Schule, Kita oder Kindertagespflege (z.B. die Tagesmutter) organisiert werden. Wenn ein Tagesausflug oder eine Klassenfahrt geplant ist, sollten diese beim Jobcenter bzw. der für das Bildungspaket zuständigen Behörde zuvor angemeldet werden. Wenn alle notwendigen Voraussetzungen vorliegen, bekommen Leistungsberechtigte dort einen Gutschein oder die Kosten werden direkt übernommen

Kultur, Sport und Freizeit

Grundsätzlich gilt: Das Bildungspaket ermöglicht die Teilnahme in den Bereichen Kultur, Sport und Freizeit. Bis zur Vollendung des 18. Lebensjahres stehen jedem Kind monatlich bis zu 10 € für z.B. Musikunterricht, den Fußball- oder Leichtathletikverein, Tanzkurse, Kunstunterricht oder vergleichbare Freizeiten, zur Verfügung