Hartz IV Additional Requirements – Additional Services & Benefits for the Control Requirement

Hartz IV MehrbedarfeBeneficiaries of Arbeitslosengeld II (ALG II, Hartz IV) and social allowance are entitled to one or more additional needs in certain life situations. The entitlement is based on the fact that individuals with special needs have a higher demand which can not be met by the services to meet the requirements of the law. The Hartz IV additional requirements are not covered by the benefits and are therefore paid in the form of a fixed percentage of the relevant standard rate. An exception to this rule is the “hardship regulation”, the amount of which corresponds to actual needs. In principle, several additional burdens can be claimed at the same time, provided that the total height does not exceed the level of the relevant standard requirement (exception of the hardship case).

All those in need of assistance who meet the requirements of § 21 SGB II are entitled to the supplementary pension.

These include:

  • Mothers from the 13th Pregnancy Week,
  • Single parents,
  • Disabled people (provided they receive benefits for participation in working life or other support to find a suitable job or integration assistance);
  • People who are dependent on a more cost-intensive diet due to illness
  • People with decentralized water supply.

Important: A legal claim applies to the services of the supplementary pension pursuant to § 21 SGB II. This means that the cost carrier, unlike the Hartz IV rule requirement, is not allowed to decide at his discretion about the need. The demand for the supplementary need arises in principle from the life situation and its factual characteristics. A special case is the hardship regulation for other regular, uncontrollable additional burdens pursuant to § 21 para. 6 SGB II.

The following additional requirements can be claimed:

  • From the 13th week of pregnancy, pregnant women are entitled to an additional requirement of 17% of the standard requirement.
    • In addition to the extra requirements, additional services can be applied for initial equipment for the home or clothing during pregnancy and childbirth.
  • Single-parent children, the amount of supplementary allowance is dependent on age and number of children.

Examples of the amount of additional demand, based on the relevant standard requirement:

 

AgePercent
Children under 7 years36 %
Children above 7 years12 %
2 Children under 16 years36 %
2 Children above 16 years24 %
4 Children48 %
5 or more children60 %
  • For disabled people an additional requirement of 35 per cent of the relevant standard requirement is recognized if benefits for participation in working life are actually granted in the sense of the Ninth Book of the Social Security Book (SGB IX – Rehabilitation and Participation).
  • For those who are entitled to a cost-intensive diet for medical reasons, an additional requirement of an appropriate level is taken into account.
  • Insofar as in the individual case there is an irrefutable, non-recurring, special need – e.g. through costs for the exercise of the right to intercourse with the child – an additional requirement is recognized under certain conditions.
  • As far as hot water is generated by devices (flow heaters) installed in the accommodation, a flat-rate staggered additional requirement is acknowledged – based on the relevant standard requirements.
  • For fully-paid social welfare recipients, a supplementary allowance of 17 percent of the relevant standard requirement will be recognized as of the age of 15 if they are holders of a severely handicapped ID card with the G mark.

Additional social security benefits

In principle, recipients of social security benefits (children up to 14 years of age) are not entitled to receive their benefits according to § 20 SGB II (rule requirement for securing livelihoods), but pursuant to § 23 SGB II.

Additional needs for trainees

Trainees who are not entitled to the regular performance because they were excluded from the services according to Hartz IV pursuant to Section 7 (5) SGB II (this includes BAföG recipients as well as recipients of benefits for the promotion of vocational training in accordance with §§ 60 to 62 SGB III ). Nevertheless have a right to the surplus demand within the meaning of § 21 SGB II, with the exception of Paragraph 4 (additional requirements for the disabled). The reason for this is that there is no need for special needs as defined by SGB II, which is already covered by the BAföG or benefits for the promotion of vocational training. Thus, this additional demand is paid in addition to the benefits (BAföG, §§ 60 to 62 SGB III).

Additional requirements for joint ventures with decentralized water supply

Beneficiaries can apply for additional demand due to a decentralized hot water treatment since the costs for this are not included in the cost of the accommodation as per § 22 SGB II and are covered by the standard services. The application for the additional requirement must be submitted with certain documents at the job center. For this purpose, a certificate from the landlord about the decentralized water treatment, as well as, a cost overview of the consumption value for electricity or gas must be added to the water heater or boiler in order to be able to claim the additional costs due to the water supply. The amount of the lump sum for hot water production is based on the requirements of § 20 SGB II as well as the associated percentages pursuant to § 21 para. 7 SGB II. These take account of the age and housing situation of the person entitled to benefits.

Starting from the Hartz IV rule requirement 2017, the following flat rates for the additional demand result from the hot water costs:

Benefit requirementWho?PercentageFlat rate
409€Adults/Singles/Disabled2,30%9,41 €
368€Full-time partners of the community of needs2,30%8,46 €
327€Adults under 25 years2,30% 7,52 €
311€Children 15 – 18 years1,40%4,35 €
291€Children  7 – 14 years1,20%3,49 €
237€Children 0 – 6 years0,80%1,90 €

Special nutritional needs:

Pursuant to Section 30 (5) SGB XII, an additional requirement of an appropriate amount is recognized for the sick, the disabled, people with disabilities or a person who is at risk of being disabled. This is intended to compensate for the costs of feeding (chronic) diseases. For the claim, it is not enough that the diet is only “costly” because this is any diet that costs money. There is generally no need for supplementary nutrition, if the diet of the sick person corresponds to the general recommendations for a “Vollkost”. The diet of the sick or handicapped must actually be “more costly” than that of the healthy, for which the general recommendations for a healthy diet (“Vollkost”), as published in particular by the German Society of Nutrition.

A claim to the need is therefore only necessary if the necessary more costly diet for the illness (threatening illness) is medically necessary. This proof must be attested by a medical certificate. The certificate shall state the exact details of the disease, the course and the quantities of the food necessary for this purpose. It is also possible that the multi-user wall for cost-intensive nutrition is granted retroactively.

Type of diseaseHealth costin % of the RLin € per month 
Renal insufficiency (renal failure)Protein-defined diet1041€
Renal insufficiency with hemodialysis treatmentDialysis2082€
Celiac disease/ Sprue (diarrhea due to hypersensitivity to gluten)Gluten-free diet2082€
Cancer (malignant tumor)1041€
HIV-infection / AIDS1041€
Multiple sclerosis (degenerative disease of the central nervous system, often progressive)1041€
Ulcerative colitis (ulcerative disease associated with ulcerative mucosa)1041€
Crohn’s disease (disease of the gastrointestinal tract with a tendency to form fistulas and narrowness)1041€
2017-02-03T09:35:15+00:00

Hartz IV MehrbedarfeLeistungsbezieher von Arbeitslosengeld II (ALG II, Hartz IV) und Sozialgeld haben in bestimmten Lebenssituationen Anspruch auf einen oder mehrere Mehrbedarfe. Der Anspruch setzt voraus, dass Leistungsberechtigte aufgrund besonderer Lebensumstände einen erhöhten Bedarf haben, der nicht durch die Leistungen zur Deckung des Regelbedarfs abgedeckt werden kann. Die Hartz IV Mehrbedarfe sind nicht durch den Regelbedarf umfasst und werden deshalb zusätzlich in Form eines festgelegten Prozentsatzes vom maßgebenden Regelsatz gezahlt. Eine Ausnahme bildet dabei jedoch die „Härtefallregelung“, deren Höhe sich am tatsächlichen Bedarf orientiert. Grundsätzlich können mehrere Mehrbedarfe gleichzeitig geltend gemacht werden, sofern die Gesamthöhe nicht die Höhe des maßgebenden Regelbedarfs übersteigt (Ausnahme Härtefallregelung).

Anspruch auf Mehrbedarfe

Anspruch auf die Mehrbedarfe haben alle Hilfebedürftigen, welche die Voraussetzungen nach § 21 SGB II erfüllen.

Dazu zählen:

  • werdende Mütter ab der 13. Schwangerschaftswoche,
  • alleinerziehende Elternteile,
  • behinderte Menschen (sofern sie Leistungen zur Teilhabe am Arbeitsleben oder sonstige Unterstützung erhalten, um einen geeigneten Arbeitsplatz oder Eingliederungshilfe zu finden), sowie
  • Menschen die aufgrund von Krankheit auf eine kostenintensivere Ernährung angewiesen sind
  • Personen mit dezentrale Wasserversorgung.

Wichtig: Auf die Leistungen der Mehrbedarfe nach §21 SGB II gilt ein Rechtsanspruch. Dies bedeutet, dass der Kostenträger, anders als beim Hartz IV Regelbedarf, nicht nach Ermessen über die Bedürftigkeit entscheiden darf. Der Anspruch auf den Mehrbedarf ergibt sich Hilfebedürftigen grundsätzlich aus der Lebenssituation und dessen Tatbestandsmerkmalen. Einen Sonderfall stellt die Härtefallregelung für sonstige regelmäßige unabweisbare Mehrbedarfe gemäß § 21 Abs. 6 SGB II dar.

Folgende Mehrbedarfe können geltend gemacht werden:

  • Schwangere haben ab der 13. Schwangerschaftswoche einen Anspruch auf einen Mehrbedarf von 17 Prozent des maßgebenden Regelbedarfs.
    • Neben dem Mehrbedarf können zusätzliche Leistungen zur Erstausstattung für die Wohnung oder Bekleidung bei Schwangerschaft und Geburt beantragt werden.
  • Bei Alleinerziehenden ist die Höhe des Mehrbedarfs abhängig vom Alter und der Anzahl der Kinder.

Beispiele für die Höhe des Mehrbedarfs, bezogen auf den maßgebenden Regelbedarf:

AlterProzent
1 Kind unter 7 Jahren36 Prozent
1 Kind über 7 Jahren12 Prozent
2 Kinder unter 16 Jahren36 Prozent
2 Kinder über 16 Jahren24 Prozent
4 Kinder48 Prozent
ab 5 Kinder60 Prozent
  • Für erwerbsfähige behinderte Menschen wird ein Mehrbedarf von 35 Prozent des maßgebenden Regelbedarfs anerkannt, wenn Leistungen zur Teilhabe am Arbeitsleben im Sinne des Neunten Buches Sozialgesetz-buch (SGB IX – Rehabilitation und Teilhabe) tatsächlich gewährt werden.
  • Bei Leistungsberechtigten, die aus medizinischen Gründen eine kostenaufwändige Ernährung benötigen, wird ein Mehrbedarf in angemessener Höhe berücksichtigt.
  • Soweit im Einzelfall ein unabweisbarer, laufender, nicht nur einmaliger besonderer Bedarf besteht – z.B. durch Kosten für die Wahrnehmung des Umgangsrechts mit dem Kind – wird unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen ein Mehrbedarf anerkannt.
  • Soweit Warmwasser durch in der Unterkunft installierte Vorrichtungen (Durchlauferhitzer) erzeugt wird, wird – bezogen auf die jeweils maßgebenden Regelbedarfe – gegebenenfalls ein pauschal gestaffelter Mehrbedarf anerkannt.
  • Für voll erwerbsgeminderte Sozialgeldempfänger wird ab Vollendung des 15. Lebensjahres ein Mehrbedarf in Höhe von 17 Prozent des maßgebenden Regelbedarfs anerkannt, wenn sie Inhaber eines Schwerbehinderten­ausweises mit dem Merkzeichen G sind.

Mehrbedarfe für Sozialgeld Empfänger

Grundsätzlich erhalten Sozialgeld-Empfänger (Kinder bis 14 Jahren) ihre Leistungen nicht nach § 20 SGB II (Regelbedarf zur Sicherung des Lebensunterhalts), sondern nach dem § 23 SGB II. Dennoch haben Sozialgeld Empfänger Anspruch auf Mehrbedarf im Sinne des § 21 SGB II.

Mehrbedarfe für Auszubildende

Auszubildende die keinen Anspruch auf die Regelleistung haben, weil sie nach dem § 7 Abs. 5 SGB II von den Leistungen nach Hartz IV ausgeschlossen wurden (hierzu zählen BAföG Empfänger sowie Empfänger von Leistungen zur Förderung der Berufsausbildung nach den §§ 60 bis 62 SGB III) haben dennoch einen Anspruch auf den Mehrbedarf im Sinne des § 21 SGB II, mit Ausnahme des Absatzes 4 (Mehrbedarf für Behinderte). Grund dafür ist, dass es sich beim Mehrbedarf im Sinne des SGB II nicht um ausbildungsbedingten Bedarf handelt, der schon durch das BAföG oder Leistungen zur Förderung der Berufsausbildung gedeckt ist. So wird dieser Mehrbedarf zusätzlich zu den Leistungen (BAföG, §§ 60 bis 62 SGB III) geleistet.

Mehrbedarfe für Bedarfsgemeinschaften mit dezentraler Wasserversorgung

Leistungsbezieher können einen Anspruch auf Mehrbedarf aufgrund einer dezentrale Warmwasseraufbereitung geltend machen, da die Kosten dafür nicht in den Kosten für die Unterkunft nach § 22 SGB II enthalten und durch die Regelleistungen gedeckt sind. Der Antrag für den Mehrbedarf muss mit bestimmten Nachweisen beim Jobcenter eingereicht werden. Dazu muss eine Bescheinigung vom Vermieter über die dezentrale Wasseraufbereitung sowie eine Kostenübersicht über den Verbrauchswert für Strom beziehungsweise Gas beim Durchlauferhitzer oder Boiler beigefügt werden, um die zusätzlichen Kosten durch die Wasserversorgung geltend machen zu können. Die Höhe der Pauschale für die Warmwasserbereitung orientiert sich am Regelbedarf nach § 20 SGB II sowie den dazugehörigen Prozentsätzen gemäß § 21 Abs. 7 SGB II. Diese berücksichtigen Alter und Wohnsituation des Leistungsberechtigten.

Ausgehend vom Hartz IV Regelbedarf 2017 ergeben sich folgende Pauschalen für den Mehrbedarf durch die Warmwasserkosten:

RegelbedarfWer?ProzentsatzPauschale
409€Volljährige / Alleinstehende / Behinderte2,30%9,41 €
368€volljährige Partner der Bedarfsgemeinschaft2,30%8,46 €
327€Volljährige unter 25 Jahren2,30% 7,52 €
311€Kinder 15 – 18 Jahre1,40%4,35 €
291€Kinder 7 – 14 Jahre1,20%3,49 €
237€Kinder 0 – 6 Jahre0,80%1,90 €

Mehrbedarfe für kostenaufwändige Ernährung

Gemäß § 30 Abs. 5 SGB XII wird für Kranke, Genesende, behinderte Menschen sowie von einer Krankheit oder von einer Behinderung bedrohte Menschen, die eine kostenaufwändige Ernährung benötigen, ein Mehrbedarf in angemessener Höhe anerkannt. Dieser soll die Kosten der Ernährung bei (chronischen) Erkrankungen ausgleichen. Für den Anspruch genügt es nicht, dass die Ernährung lediglich „kostenaufwändig“ ist, denn dies ist jede Ernährung, die Geld kostet. Ein Mehrbedarf besteht in der Regel auch nicht, wenn die Ernährung des kranken Menschen den allgemeinen Empfehlungen für eine „Vollkost“ entspricht. Die Ernährung des Kranken oder Behinderten muss tatsächlich „kostenaufwändiger“ sein als die des Gesunden, für den die allgemeinen Empfehlungen für eine gesunde Ernährung („Vollkost“) gelten, wie sie insbesondere von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Ernährung herausgegeben werden.

Einen Anspruch auf den Mehrbedarf hat man daher nur, wenn die notwendige kostenaufwändigere Ernährung für die Krankheit (drohende Krankheit) medizinisch erforderlich ist. Dieser Nachweis muss durch einen ärztlichen Bescheid attestiert werden. Aus der Bescheinigung muss die genaue Angabe über die Krankheit, den Verlauf und die Mehraufwendungen der dafür notwendigen Ernährung hervorgehen. Dabei ist es möglich, dass der Mehraufwand für kostenaufwändige Ernährung auch rückwirkend gewährt wird.

Art der ErkrankungKrankenkost/ Kostformin % der RLin € pro Monat
Niereninsuffizienz (Nierenversagen)Eiweißdefinierte Kost1041€
Niereninsuffizienz mit HämodialysebehandlungDialysediät2082€
Zöliakie/ Sprue (Durchfallerkrankung bedingt durch Überempfindlichkeit gegenüber Klebereiweiß)Glutenfreie Kost2082€
Krebs (bösartiger Tumor)1041€
HIV-Infektion / AIDS1041€
Multiple Sklerose (degenerative Erkrankung des Zentralnervensystems, häufig schubweise verlaufend)1041€
Colitis ulcerosa (mit Geschwürsbildungen einhergehende Erkrankung der Dickdarmschleimhaut)1041€
Morbus Crohn (Erkrankung des Magen-Darmtrakts mit Neigung zur Bildung von Fisteln und Verengungen)1041€

Anspruchsberechtigte Hilfebedürftige haben in bestimmten Lebenssituationen zudem Anspruch auf Sonderbedarfe.