Hartz IV Rule Requirement 2020 – unemployment benefit II and social benefits

Hartz IV Regelbedarf 2017 - InfografikThe Hartz IV rule requirement means a cash benefit from a lump sum, which is paid out in advance by the cost-bearers in advance and is available to individuals entitled to benefits by their own responsibility to ensure their livelihood. The statutory basis is the rule requirement law for the determination of the rule requirements according to § 28 of the twelfth book Sozialgesetzbuch. The need for regulation is thus the basis for the calculation of the needs estimation for the unemployment benefit II and the social benefits.

What are the necessities that fulfil the regulatory requirements?

The need for regulation covers the basic costs of securing livelihood and covers the ongoing and unique needs of:

  • Nutrition,
  • Clothing,
  • Personal hygiene,
  • Household goods,
  • Household energy

As well as needs for participation in social and cultural life in the community such as:

  • Education
  • Communication,
  • Leisure, entertainment, and culture
  • Traffic & travel costs

The individual life situation of the applicant is taken into account and the need for those in need of help is determined on the basis of the current requirement for benefits. In addition to the regular requirements, e.g. for food, even irregular needs for clothing, initial equipment or class trips are covered by the rule requirement.

Increase in the Hartz IV requirements and provided benefits as of January 1, 2019

As of 1 January 2017, the benefits were raised on the basis of the new requirement levels. The standard requirement for adults who are single-parent or single-parent in their own household as well as disabled individuals is 424 €. The requirement for full-year partners in a community is 382 €. Young adults aged 18 years and over who are not 25 years old and do not have a household of their own, a spouse, a life partner, or a marriage-like or life partnership-like community 339 € . Children and young people between the ages of 14 and 17 will receive € 322 Children aged 6 to 13 years of age are entitled to 302 € and children younger than 6 years will receive € 245.

How is the rule requirement determined?

According to § 20 SGB II, the standard services of the cost carriers are based on individual requirements for life support, which are calculated by the Federal Statistical Office by means of a special price index by means of the annual update of the standard requirement levels. This index only takes into account the price development of goods and services relevant to the supply chain. As a so-called “mixed index”, it consists of 70 percent of the price-related price development and 30 percent of net sales. In its decision on the 9th of September 2014, the Federal Constitutional Court recognized and confirmed this mechanism for determining needs. The Federal Ministry of Labor and Social Affairs (Bundesamt für Arbeit und Soziales – BMAS) publishes the amount of the regular requirements for the following calendar year according to the amount resulting from a requirement of the Ordinance on the requirements of the Ordinance.

Legal basis:

The requirements are adjusted as of January 1st of each year according to § 28a of the twelfth book in conjunction with the regulation pursuant to § 40 sentence 1 number 1 of the twelfth book. Section 28 of the Twelfth Book in conjunction with the Ordinance Requirement for the Determination of Appeals applies correspondingly to the new determination of the requirements of the law. The Federal Ministry of Labor and Social Affairs shall publish in the Federal Gazette, at the latest by 1 November of each calendar year, the amount of the regular requirements applicable for the following calendar year.

The Rule Requirements Levels

The following is a description and an overview of the update of the individual requirements of the Social Security Code (SGB II):

RequirementsDescriptionregulated according to
Requirement 1:For an adult person entitled to benefits, who, as a single, leads a household of his own; This also applies if one or more other adult persons who are assigned to level 3 of the regulation as well as people with disabilities are living in this household.§20 SGB II
Requirement 2:For two adults who are entitled to a joint household as a spouse, a life partner or a marriage-like or life partnership-like community.§20 SGB II
Requirement 3:For an adult person who is not entitled to a household of his own, or as a spouse, a life partner or in a marriage-like or life partnership-like community.§20 SGB II

i.V.m.

§20 SGB II

Requirement 4:For a young person who is entitled to performance benefits, or a young person with a high potential, from 14 to under 18 years of age.§20 SGB II

§23 SGB II

Requirement 5:For a child between 6 and 14 years.§23 SGB II
Requirement 6:For a child under 6 years.§23 SGB II
Regulatory requirements123456
valid from:100%90%80%14 to 18 years6 to 14 yearsup to 6 years
EVS 2008361,81325,63289,45273,62240,32211,69
1. January 2011364328291287251215
1. January 2012374337299287251219
1. January 2013382345306289255224
1. January 2014391353313296261229
1. January 2015399360320302267234
1. January 2016404364324306270237
1. January 2017409368327311291237
1. January 2018416374332316296240
1. January 2019424382339322302245
2020-01-10T03:08:10+00:00

Hartz IV Regelbedarf 2017 - InfografikDer Hartz IV Regelbedarf bezeichnet eine Geldleistung aus einem Pauschalbetrag, welche durch die Kostenträger monatlich im Voraus ausgezahlt wird und Leistungsberechtigten eigenverantwortlich zur Sicherung ihres Lebensunterhalts zur Verfügung steht. Die gesetzliche Grundlage bildet das Regelbedarfs-Ermittlungsgesetz zur Ermittlung der Regelbedarfe nach § 28 des Zwölften Buches Sozialgesetzbuch. Der Regelbedarf ist somit die Grundlage für die Bedarfsberechnung der Leistungen für das Arbeitslosengeld II und das Sozialgeld.

Welche Bedarfe umfasst der Regelbedarf?

Der Regelbedarf umfasst die grundlegenden Kosten zur Sicherung des Lebensunterhalt und deckt den laufenden und einmaligen Bedarf für:

  • Ernährung,
  • Kleidung,
  • Körperpflege,
  • Hausrat,
  • Haushaltsenergie

sowie Bedarfe zur Teilnahme am sozialen und kulturellen Leben in der Gemeinschaft wie:

  • Bildung
  • Nachrichtenübermittlung & Kommunikation,
  • Freizeit, Unterhaltung, Kultur und
  • Verkehr

Dabei wird die individuelle Lebenssituation des Antragstellers berücksichtigt und der Bedarf für Hilfebedürftige auf Grundlage der aktuellen Regelbedarfsstufen ermittelt. Neben regelmäßigen Bedarfen, z.B. für Lebensmittel, sind auch unregelmäßige Bedarfe für Bekleidung, Erstausstattungen oder Klassenfahrten aus dem Regelbedarf zu decken.

Erhöhung des Hartz IV Regelbedarfs zum 01. Januar 2017

Zum 1. Januar 2017 wurden die Regelsätze auf Grundlage der neuen Regelbedarfsstufen angehoben. Bundeseinheitlich beträgt der Regelbedarf für erwachsene Leistungsberechtigte, die alleinstehend oder alleinerziehend in einem eigenen Haushalt leben sowie für Behinderte Personen 409 €. Der Regelbedarf für volljährige Partner in einer Bedarfsgemeinschaft beträgt jeweils 368 €. Junge Erwachsene ab 18 Jahren, die noch keine 25 Jahre sind und weder einen eigenen Haushalt führen, noch als Ehegatte, Lebenspartner oder in einer eheähnlicher bzw. lebenspartnerschafts-ähnlichen Gemeinschaft einen gemeinsamen Haushalt führen erhalten 327 €. Kinder bzw. Jugendliche in einem Alter von 14 Jahren bis einschließlich 17 Jahren erhalten von nun an 311 €. Kinder von 6 bis einschließlich 13 Jahren stehen 291 € zu und Kinder die jünger als 6 Jahre sind erhalten weiterhin 237 €.

Die folgenden Bedarfe sind im Hartz IV Regelbedarf enthalten:

Hartz IV Regelbedarf 2017 - Anteile am Regelbedarf
Bedarf fürAnteil € vom RegelbedarfAnteil % vom Regelbedarf
Nahrung, alkoholfreie Getränke145,20 €35,50%
Freizeit, Unterhaltung, Kultur45,15 €11,04%
Nachrichtenübermittlung36,11 €8,83%
Bekleidung, Schuhe34,36 €8,40%
Wohnen, Energie, Wohninstandhaltung34,19 €8,36%
Innenausstattung, Haushaltsgeräte31 €7,58%
Waren & Dienstleistungen29,94 €7,32%
Verkehr25,77 €6,30%
Gesundheitspflege17,59 €4,30%
Beherbergungs & Gaststättendienstleistungen8,10 €1,98%
Bildung1,55 €0,38%

 Wie wird der Regelbedarf ermittelt?

Die Regelleistungen der Kostenträger basieren nach nach § 20 SGB II auf einzelne Bedarfe zum Lebensunterhalt, welche durch die jährliche Fortschreibung der Regelbedarfsstufen vom Statistischen Bundesamt durch einen speziellen Preisindex berechnet werden. Dieser Index berücksichtigt ausschließlich die Preisentwicklung der regelbedarfsrelevanten Güter und Dienstleistungen. Als sogenannter „Mischindex“ setzt sich dieser zu 70 Prozent aus der regelsatzrelevanten Preisentwicklung und zu 30 Prozent aus der Nettolohnentwicklung zusammen. Das Bundesverfassungsgericht hat in seiner Entscheidung vom 9. September 2014 diesen Mechanismus zur Bedarfsermittlung anerkannt und bestätigt. Die Höhe der Regelbedarfe für das jeweils folgende Kalenderjahr gibt das Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Soziales (BMAS) nach den sich aus einer Regelbedarfsstufen-Fortschreibungsverordnung ergebenden Höhe bis zum 1. November eines Jahres im Bundesgesetzblatt bekannt.

Gesetzesgrundlage:

Die Regelbedarfe werden jeweils zum 1. Januar eines Jahres entsprechend § 28a des Zwölften Buches in Verbindung mit der Verordnung nach § 40 Satz 1 Nummer 1 des Zwölften Buches angepasst. Für die Neuermittlung der Regelbedarfe findet § 28 des Zwölften Buches in Verbindung mit dem Regelbedarfs-Ermittlungsgesetz entsprechende Anwendung. Das Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Soziales gibt jeweils spätestens zum 1. November eines Kalenderjahres die Höhe der Regelbedarfe, die für das folgende Kalenderjahr maßgebend sind, im Bundesgesetzblatt bekannt.

Die Regelbedarfsstufen

Nachfolgend finden Sie eine Beschreibung und eine Übersicht zur Fortschreibung der einzelnen Regelbedarfsstufen aus dem Zweiten Sozialgesetzbuch (SGB II):

RegelbedarfsstufenBeschreibunggeregelt nach
Regelbedarfsstufe 1:Für eine erwachsene leistungsberechtigte Person, die als alleinstehende oder alleinerziehende Person einen eigenen Haushalt führt; dies gilt auch dann, wenn in diesem Haushalt eine oder mehrere weitere erwachsene Personen leben, die der Regelbedarfsstufe 3 zuzuordnen sind sowie Menschen mit Behinderung.§20 SGB II
Regelbedarfsstufe 2:Für jeweils zwei erwachsene Leistungsberechtigte, die als Ehegatten, Lebenspartner oder in eheähnlicher oder lebenspartnerschaftsähnlicher Gemeinschaft einen gemeinsamen Haushalt führen.§20 SGB II
Regelbedarfsstufe 3:Für eine erwachsene leistungsberechtigte Person, die weder einen eigenen Haushalt führt, noch als Ehegatte, Lebenspartner oder in eheähnlicher oder lebenspartnerschaftsähnlicher Gemeinschaft einen gemeinsamen Haushalt führt.§20 SGB II

i.V.m.

§20 SGB II

Regelbedarfsstufe 4:Für eine leistungsberechtigte Jugendliche oder einen leistungsberechtigten Jugendlichen von 14 bis unter 18 Jahre.§20 SGB II

§23 SGB II

Regelbedarfsstufe 5:Für ein leistungsberechtigtes Kind von 6 bis unter 14 Jahre.§23 SGB II
Regelbedarfsstufe 6:Für ein leistungsberechtigtes Kind bis unter 6 Jahre.§23 SGB II
 Regelbedarfs-
stufen
123456
gültig ab:100%90%80%14 bis 18 Jahre6 bis 14 Jahrebis 6 Jahre
EVS 2008361,81325,63289,45273,62240,32211,69
1. Januar 2011364328291287251215
1. Januar 2012374337299287251219
1. Januar 2013382345306289255224
1. Januar 2014391353313296261229
1. Januar 2015399360320302267234
1. Januar 2016404364324306270237
1. Januar 2017409368327311291237