In principal: The first 100 Euro are always tax-free.

In addition, an exemption for gainful employment is deducted for employed persons. 20% of the monthly gross income between 100 and 1000 euros (inclusive) is exempt from tax.  10% of a further gross income of up to 1,200 euros per month are still tax-exempt. For employees with children, the limit is 1,500 euros.

For example, the following exemptions apply:

Gross Income

Tax-free Amount

100 Euro

100 Euro

200 Euro

120 Euro

400 Euro

160 Euro

800 Euro

240 Euro

1.000 Euro

280 Euro

1.200 Euro

300 Euro

1.500 Euro (with a child)

330 Euro

 

In addition, according to § 11b paragraph 2 SGB II, further amounts can be deducted for income with earnings exceeding € 400 in the event that necessary employment expenses exceed € 100. The Arbeitslosengeld II Ordinance (AlgIIV) provides for some of the deduction amounts, e.g. flat-rate commute expenses. Accordingly, income is deductible:

  • The taxes and social security contributions paid on income in full,
  • The contributions to statutory public or private insurance (e.g., motor vehicle liability insurance) in the amount of actual expenses,
  • The contributions to public or private insurance which are not required by law, but are proportionate to the amount and amount of the pension (a lump sum of 30 euros per month), contributions to the “Riester-Rente” Pursuant to section 86 of the Income Tax Act, and
  • The necessary expenditures related to the gain of the income (“advertising costs”). An amount of EUR 15.33 (one-sixtyth of the tax-related advertising costs) is deductible on a monthly basis. Higher expenditure can be taken into account. In addition, the travel costs for public transport are deductible. For your own car / motorbike an amount of 0,20 Euro is deductible for each distance of the shortest connection. This does not apply if travel by bus or train are significantly cheaper.

Section 11b SGB II

Grundsätzlich gilt: Die ersten 100 Euro sind immer anrechnungsfrei.

Außerdem wird für Erwerbstätige ein Freibetrag bei Erwerbstätigkeit abgesetzt. Über 100 Euro monatlich hinausgehendes Bruttoeinkommen bis 1000 Euro monatlich ist zu 20 Prozent anrechnungsfrei. Weiteres Bruttoeinkommen bis 1.200 Euro monatlich wird noch zu 10 Prozent anrechnungsfrei gestellt. Für Beschäftigte mit Kindern beträgt die Grenze 1.500 Euro.

Daraus ergeben sich zum Beispiel folgende Freibeträge:

Bruttoverdienst

anrechnungsfreier Betrag

100 Euro

100 Euro

200 Euro

120 Euro

400 Euro

160 Euro

800 Euro

240 Euro

1.000 Euro

280 Euro

1.200 Euro

300 Euro

1.500 Euro (mit Kind)

330 Euro

 

Zusätzlich können bei Erwerbseinkommen über 400 Euro nach § 11b Absatz 2 SGB II weitere Beträge abgesetzt werden, wenn die notwendigen Aufwendungen für die Erwerbstätigkeit 100 Euro übersteigen. Durch die Arbeitslosengeld II Verordnung (AlgIIV) werden einige der Absetzbeträge, z.B. Fahrtkosten zur Arbeitsstätte pauschaliert. Demnach sind vom Einkommen absetzbar:

  • die auf das Einkommen entrichteten Steuern und Pflichtbeiträge zur Sozialversicherung in voller Höhe,
  • die Beiträge zu gesetzlich vorgeschriebenen öffentlichen oder privaten Versicherungen (z.B. Kfz-Haftpflichtversicherung) in Höhe der tatsächlichen Aufwendungen,
  • die Beiträge zu öffentlichen oder privaten Versicherungen, die zwar nicht gesetzlich vorgeschrieben, aber nach Grund und Höhe angemessen sind (Pauschbetrag von 30 Euro monatlich), geförderte Altersvorsorgebeiträge (Beiträge zur „Riester-Rente“) nach § 82 des Einkommensteuergesetzes, soweit sie den Mindesteigenbetrag nach § 86 des Einkommensteuergesetzes nicht überschreiten sowie
  • die mit der Erzielung des Einkommens verbundenen notwendigen Ausgaben („Werbungskosten“). Hierfür ist monatlich pauschal ein Betrag von 15,33 Euro (ein Sechzigstel der steuerrechtlichen Werbungskostenpauschale) absetzbar. Höhere Ausgaben können auf Nachweis berücksichtigt werden. Zusätzlich sind die Fahrtkosten für öffentliche Verkehrsmittel absetzbar. Beim eigenen Auto/Motorrad ist ein Betrag in Höhe von 0,20 Euro für jeden Entfernungskilometer der kürzesten Verbindung absetzbar. Das gilt nicht, wenn Bus oder Bahn deutlich billiger sind.

§ 11b SGB II